Metacam Award

2022 Metacam® 20* Bovine Welfare Award Presented to Alberta's Dr. Karen Schwartzkopf-Genswein

  • October 13, 2022
Dr. Karen Schwartzkopf-Genswein Dr. Karen Schwartzkopf-Genswein

Award recognizes outstanding contributions to the welfare of animals in Canada

October 13, 2022 – Dr. Karen Schwartzkopf-Genswein of Lethbridge, Alberta has been named the recipient of the 2022 Metacam® 20 Bovine Welfare Award for her pioneering work in improving beef cattle welfare. Her extensive research has been instrumental in the development of animal welfare standards and has contributed to updated guidelines and regulations for the Canadian cattle industry.  

The Metacam® 20 Bovine Welfare Award is presented annually by the Canadian Association of Bovine Veterinarians (CABV) / Association Canadienne des Vétérinaires Bovins (ACVB) in partnership with Boehringer Ingelheim Animal Health Canada Inc. Dr. Schwartzkopf-Genswein was announced as the award winner at the Annual General Meeting of the CABV/ACVB, which was held virtually on Oct. 13.

"The CABV/ACVB extends its congratulations to Dr Schwartzkopf-Genswein,” said Dr. Robert Tremblay, President of the CABV/ACVB. “Karen's passion for animal welfare, that is so well reflected in her research and in all of her professional activities, has been a great benefit to cattle and to those who work with cattle."

Dr. Schwartzkopf-Genswein is a senior research scientist with Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada where she leads research on beef cattle and welfare. Her research interests include pain/stress assessment and mitigation strategies associated with routine management procedures such as transport, castration, dehorning and lameness. She is also an adjunct professor at the University of Saskatchewan, University of Calgary and UNESP University in Brazil.

Dr. Schwartzkopf-Genswein shares her passion for cattle welfare with the next generation of researchers and scientists by mentoring, training and guiding undergraduate, graduate and post-doctoral fellows who are making their own significant contributions in academia, government and industry. She also provides training and consultative services to cattle industry stakeholders and speaks at scientific and industry conferences around the world.

“I am very honoured to receive this award,” said Dr. Schwartzkopf-Genswein. “Especially because it is acknowledgement from peers and industry stakeholders that the work my team and I have done in beef cattle welfare has had relevance for producers, veterinarians and cattle alike.”   

Dr. Schwartzkopf-Genswein is recognized by her peers for her devotion to improving the welfare of beef cattle and for her work that has led to the advancement of research methods for assessing animal welfare.

In his support for the award nomination, Tim McAllister, Principal Research Scientist with Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, said Dr. Schwartzkopf-Genswein is a pioneer in her field, and she has limitless energy that she dedicates towards beef cattle welfare.

“She has established many of the methods presently used to assess bovine welfare and has contributed to the best management practices that have been adopted by the bovine industry in the past and present,” he said. “Her enthusiasm is directed to accomplishments that are anchored in delivering benefits directly to the North American beef industry.”

Derek Groff, Business Unit Director (Livestock) with Boehringer Ingelheim Animal Health Canada, explained the Metacam® 20 Bovine Welfare Award recognizes and encourages those who research and work to advance animal welfare and well-being.

“Congratulations to Dr. Schwartzkopf-Genswein for her incredible contributions to the advancement of bovine welfare in Canada and around the world,” said Groff. “Not only is her work helping improve practices today, it is also shaping government regulations and industry codes of practice which will ensure bovine welfare remains a focus in the future.”

Groff thanked the CABV/ACVB for its work to seek nominations and select the recipient of the award.


The Canadian Association of Bovine Veterinarians (CABV) / Association Canadienne des Vétérinaires Bovins (ACVB) represents approximately 800 veterinarians from across Canada who have a specific interest in bovine health and production medicine. The Board is composed of thirteen members who are also representatives on the Boards of Canada’s four regional bovine associations: Atlantic Bovine Practitioners Association (ABPA), l'Association des Médecins Vétérinaires Praticiens du Québec (AMVPQ), Ontario Association of Bovine Practitioners (OABP) and the Western Canadian Association of Bovine Practitioners (WCABP).

Boehringer Ingelheim (Canada) Ltd.

Boehringer Ingelheim is working on breakthrough therapies that transform lives, today and for generations to come. As a leading research-driven biopharmaceutical company, the company creates value through innovation in areas of high unmet medical need. Founded in 1885 and family-owned ever since, Boehringer Ingelheim takes a long-term perspective. More than 52,000 employees serve over 130 markets in the three business areas, Human Pharma, Animal Health, and Biopharmaceutical Contract Manufacturing. The Canadian headquarters of Boehringer Ingelheim was established in 1972 in Montreal, Quebec and is now located in Burlington, Ontario. Boehringer Ingelheim employs approximately 500 people across Canada. Learn more at

About Boehringer Ingelheim Animal Health
Boehringer Ingelheim Animal Health is working on first-in-class innovation for the prediction, prevention, and treatment of diseases in animals. For veterinarians, pet owners, farmers, and governments in more than 150 countries, we offer a large and innovative portfolio of products and services to improve the health and well-being of companion animals and livestock. As a global leader in the animal health industry and as part of family-owned Boehringer Ingelheim, we take a long-term perspective. The lives of animals and humans are interconnected in deep and complex ways. We know that when animals are healthy, humans are healthier too. By using the synergies between our Animal Health and Human Pharma businesses and by delivering value through innovation, we enhance the health and well-being of both. For more information visit:

About the Metacam® 20 Bovine Welfare Award

The Metacam® 20 Bovine Welfare Award is given annually to a DVM or animal scientist working in Canada, a faculty member or a graduate student of a Canadian university to recognize his/her achievements in advancing the welfare of animals via leadership, public service, education, research/product development, and/or advocacy. By doing so, the CABV/ACVB hopes to raise public awareness of the important role veterinarians and animal scientists play in:

  • Improving bovine welfare in cattle production and research systems
  • Improving scientific methods of measuring bovine welfare

*Registered Tradename: Metacam® 20 mg/mL Solution for Injection
Metacam® is a registered trademark of Boehringer Ingelheim Vetmedica GmbH. abcd

Past Metacam 20 Bovine Welfare Award Recipients

2021 - Dr. Trevor DeVries (Ontario)
2020 - Dr. Karin Orsel (Alberta)
2019 - Dr. André Desrochers (Quebec)
2018 - Dr. Todd Duffield (Ontario)
2017 - Dr. Joyce Van Donkersgoed (Alberta)
2016 - Dr. Ken Leslie (Ontario)
2015 - Dr. Ed Pajor (Alberta)
2014 - Dr. Joseph Stookey (Saskatchewan)
2013 - Drs. Marina von Keyserlingk and Dan Weary (British Columbia)
2012 - Dr. Neil Anderson (Ontario) 

Member Login

OABP members may contact the CABV Office ( to establish a username and password.

© 2024 The Canadian Association of Bovine Veterinarians